California voters approved Proposition 64, the Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA), in November 2016.
Proposition 64 eliminates the criminal consequences for personal level possession and cultivation of marijuana by persons 21 years of age or older. Subject to certain exceptions, it allows persons 21 or older to:
- possess, process, transport, purchase, obtain, or give away to persons 21 years old or older without compensation 28.5 grams or less of marijuana and 8 grams or less of concentrated cannabis;
- possess, plant, cultivate, harvest, dry, or process six or fewer living marijuana plants and products produced by the plants;
- smoke or ingest marijuana and marijuana products; and
- possess, transport, purchase, obtain, use, manufacture, or give away without compensation to persons 21 or older, any marijuana accessories.
For additional information about Adult-Use Cannabis click here. For information about Adult-Use cannabis penalties in California click here.
To learn about Medicinal Use Cannabis click here. To learn about Medicinal Use penalties in California click here.
Clear Your Cannabis Record
Proposition 64 also reduced criminal penalties for specified marijuana-related offenses for adults and juveniles; and authorized resentencing or dismissal and sealing of prior, eligible marijuana-related convictions. For additional information about Proposition 64 click here.
In California, all County District Attorney’s Offices were required to implement AB 1793 which created a statewide process for automatic review of convictions that may qualify for a reduced punishment by July 1, 2020.
To find out if your record has been cleared, or for more information about this initiative, contact the Los Angeles County Public Defender’s Office by phone at (323) 760-6763 or visit http://pubdef.lacounty.gov. The Public Defender’s Office will reply to all inquiries.